De Jonge Akademie

Ga direct naar de inhoud
Ga direct naar de site navigatie
Ga direct naar zoeken

Commission invites independent counsel in setting up Scientific Advice Mechanism

6 juli 2015

The European Commission today announced that Sir David King (former UK Chief Scientific Advisor), Rianne Letschert (Chair of The Young Academy in the Netherlands) and António Vitorino (former European Commissioner) will assist the Commission in selecting members of the High Level Group of the new Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM).

This so called Identification Committee will provide recommendations to the Commission for the seven members of the High Level Group, so that it can begin work this autumn. Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, is today hosting a first working lunch with the members of the Identification Committee.

Commissioner Moedas said: "With the Identification Committee in place, we are now looking to have the High Level Group of the new Scientific Advice Mechanism set up by autumn. I am delighted that we have such renowned experts to help us select the best people to give the European Commission high-quality, independent scientific advice."

The three members of the Identification Committee have expertise in a range of scientific disciplines and knowledge of EU policy making that will allow them to make an objective assessment of the needs for the membership of the High Level Group.

They will assist the Commission to define the criteria and method for identifying members of the High Level Group and recommend potential candidates for selection. The agreed methodology will be published on the webpage of the Scientific Advice Mechanism.

Commissioner Moedas also met today with the five presidents of the European Academy networks (Academia Europaea, ALLEA, EASAC, Euro-CASE, FEAM) which will also play an important role in the Scientific Advice Mechanism.



As announced by President Juncker on 13 May 2015, the European Commission intends to set up a new Scientific Advice Mechanism. The mechanism will support the Commission with high quality, timely and independent scientific advice for its policy-making activities.

The Scientific Advice Mechanism will be headed by a High Level Group of scientific advisors who will draw on the wide range of scientific expertise in Europe through a close relationship with national academies, universities, research organisations and specialised EU bodies.

The three members of the Identification Committee combine a broad range of experience that will be instrumental in setting up the High Level Group.

Sir David King is the UK's Special Representative for Climate Change and a former Chief Scientific Advisor to the Government from 2000 – 2007. Apart from a distinguished academic career at Oxford and Cambridge, he has published over 500 papers on science and policy and holds 22 Honorary Degrees from universities around the world.

Rianne Letschert is a professor of victimology and international law at the International Victimology Institute Tilburg (INTERVICT). In 2013, she was appointed to The Young Academy in the Netherlands (De Jonge Akademie), of which she became the chair in April 2015. She is a member of the Dutch Helsinki Committee.

António Vitorino, a lawyer by profession, served in a number of posts in the Portuguese Government including those of Deputy Prime Minister and Defence Minister. From 1999 to 2004, he was the European Commissioner for Justice and Internal Affairs. He is currently President of the Jacques Delors Institute.

  1. Home
  2. Actueel
  3. Nieuws

Ga terug naar de bovenkant van deze pagina
Ga terug naar de inhoud
Ga terug naar de site navigatie
Ga terug naar zoeken